Home >>World Cup >>World Cup History
CAF Soccer Betting

2012 Africa Cup of Nations Soccer Betting

2012 Africa Cup of NationsThe Official Draw for the final phase of the 2012 Orange African Cup of Nations will take place on Saturday, October 29 in Malabo, Equatorial Guinea.

The draw will be conducted by CAF General Secretary, Hicham El Amrani, along  with  other CAF Officials and renowned footballers amongst others.

The ceremony will take place exactly 20-days after the final round matches of the qualifying series, which will give birth to 14 teams from the qualifying series for the final tournament to be co-hosted by Equatorial Guinea and Gabon scheduled from 21 January to 12 February, 2012.

Co-hosts Equatorial Guinea and Gabon have qualified automatically whilst Botswana and Cote d’Ivoire have sealed their places from the qualifying series with two matches to spare.

The draw will see the 16 qualified teams being pitted into four groups of four teams each. The two top teams from each group will qualify for the quarter finals with the winners progressing to the semi finals and final eventually.

The Pharaohs have won the last three editions of the Africa Cup of Nations; 2006 (Egypt), 2008 (Ghana) and 2010 (Angola).

This will be the first that Gabon and Equatorial Guinea will be hosting the continent’s showpiece football event. Morocco will host the 2015 edition of the Africa Cup of Nations and South Africa in 2017.

Sudan hosted the first edition of the Africa Cup of Nations in 1957 and 15 others have since hosted the biggest African football event.

Egypt have hosted 4-times (1959, 1974, 1986, 2006), Ghana also four times (1963, 1978, 2000[co-host with Nigeria), 2008), with Ethiopia and Tunisia each three times in (1962, 1968, 1976) and (1965, 1994 and 2004) respectively.

Sudan has hosted twice (1957, 1970) just as Nigeria (1980, 2000 [co-host with Ghana]).

Ten (10) countries namely; Algeria (1990), Burkina Faso (1998), Cameroon (1972), Libya (1982), Cote d’Ivoire (1984), Mali (2002), Morocco (1988), Senegal (1992), South Africa (1996) and Angola (2010) have all hosted once.

2012 CAF Nations Cup Qualifiers

Equatorial Guinea and Gabon qualify automatically as co-hosts.


Online Betting Online Betting Online Betting Online Betting