FIFA World Cup Soccer Awards

FIFA World Cup Awards

At the end of each World Cup final tournament, several awards are attributedto the players and teams which have distinguished from the rest, in differentaspects of the game.

There are currently six awards:

The Golden Ball (currently commercially termed "adidas Golden Ball") for best player (first awarded in 1982).

The Golden Shoe (also known as the Golden Boot, since 1982 commercially termed "adidas Golden Shoe") was first awarded in 1930 for top goal scorer.

The Yashin Award for best goalkeeper (Golden Glove Award after 2010).

The FIFA Fair Play Award for the team with the best record of fair play (first awarded in 1978).

The Most Entertaining Team award for the team that has entertained the public the most, during the World Cup final tournament, as determined by a poll of the general public, first awarded in 1994.

The Best Young Player (currently commercially termed as "Gillette Best Young Player") award for best player under 21 years of age at the start of the calendar year, which will be awarded for the first time in 2006.


ADIDAS Golden Ball Award

Golden Ball AwardThe adidas Golden Ball award is presented to the outstanding player at each FIFA World CupT finals, with ten nominees drawn up by the FIFA technical committee and the winner voted for by representatives of the media.

This is the most prestigious individual award in the world of football.Out of these ten nominated players, selected by the the FIFA Technical StudyGroup, representatives of the media elected the winners of the adidas Golden,Silver and Bronze Ball.

Past adidas Golden Ball Winners

Past winners of the prestigious adidas Golden Ball award include famous facessuch as Germany goalkeeper Oliver Kahn in 2002, Brazil’s Ronaldo in 1998, Italia90 hitman Salvatore Schillaci and Argentina’s 1986 World Cup™ winner DiegoMaradona.

Every FIFA World Cup™ finals produces one outstanding player destined toleave an indelible mark on the tournament in question. Beginning in 1982, FIFAand adidas have recognised the exceptional performers by awarding the adidasGolden Ball at the end of the event.

The Golden Ball is arguably the most coveted individual trophy in the worldgame. At the 2002 FIFA World Cup Korea/Japan™, Germany's Oliver Kahn became thefirst goalkeeper to claim the prestigious award, accepting a newly-createdversion of the trophy inscribed with the names of all previous winners.

Alongside Kahn, the glittering prize has gone to Paolo Rossi (Italy), DiegoMaradona (Argentina), Toto Schillaci (Italy), Romario (Brazil) and Ronaldo(Brazil). The names of all future winners will be added after each tournament.

The award procedure involves the FIFA technical committee nominating ashortlist of ten contenders following the semi-finals, before mediarepresentatives meet at the play-off for third place to elect the winner of theGold, Silver and Bronze Balls.

The new design commissioned by adidas is based on the historic Chile ballcreated by the equipment manufacturer in 1960 and remains in adidas and FIFA'spossession. The world governing body keeps the trophy on permanent display at FIFA House in Zurich.


Golden Ball Awardees

1982 Spain Paolo Rossi Paolo Rossi Italy
1986 Mexico Diego Maradona Diego Maradona Argentina
1990 Italy Salvatore Schillaci Salvatore Schillaci Italy
1994 USA Romario Romario Brazil
1998 France Ronaldo Ronaldo Brazil
2002 South Korea & Japan Oliver Kahn Oliver Kahn Germany
2006 Germany Zinedine Zidane Zinedine Zidane France
2010 South Africa Diego Forlán Diego Forlan Uruguay


Golden Boot Award

FIFA Golden Shoe AwardThe leading goalscorer at every FIFA World Cup™ finals is awarded the adidasGolden Boot - past winners of the accolade include Gerd Muller, Ronaldo and JustFontaine.







World Cup Top Goalscorer Goals
1930 Uruguay Guillermo Stábile (Argentina) 8
1934 Italy Edmund Conen (Germany)
Oldřich Nejedlý (Czechoslovakia)
Angelo Schiavio (Italy)
1938 France Leônidas (Brazil) 8
1950 Brazil Ademir (Brazil) 9(2)
1954 Switzerland Sándor Kocsis (Hungary) 11
1958 Sweden Just Fontaine (France) 13
1962 Chile Garrincha (Brazil)
Vavá (Brazil)
Leonel Sánchez (Chile)
Dražen Jerković (Yugoslavia)
Valentin Ivanov (Soviet Union)
Flórián Albert (Hungary)
1966 England Eusébio (Portugal) 9
1970 Mexico Gerd Müller (West Germany) 10
1974 West Germany Grzegorz Lato (Poland) 7
1978 Argentina Mario Kempes (Argentina) 6
Adidas Golden Shoe winners
1982 Spain Paolo Rossi (Italy) 6
1986 Mexico Gary Lineker (England) 6
1990 Italy Salvatore Schillaci (Italy) 6
1994 USA Hristo Stoitchkov (Bulgaria)
Oleg Salenko (Russia)
1998 France Davor Šuker (Croatia) 6
2002 Korea/Japan Ronaldo (Brazil) 8
2006 Germany Miroslav Klose (Germany) 5
2010 South Africa Thomas Müller (Germany) 5


Golden Glove Award (Lev Yashin Award)

The Yashin Award is attributed to the best goalkeeper of the World Cupfinal tournament. The award is named in honour of the late and legendary Russiangoalkeeper, Lev Yashin.

World Cup Yashin Award winner
1994 USA Michel Preud'homme (Belgium)
1998 France Fabien Barthez (France)
2002 Korea/Japan Oliver Kahn (Germany)
2006 Germany Gianluigi Buffon (Italy)
2010 South Africa Iker Casillas (Spain)


FIFA Fair Play Award

The FIFA Fair Play Trophy is given to the team with the best record offair play during the World Cup final tournament. Only teams that qualified forthe second round are considered. The winners of this award earn the FIFA FairPlay Trophy, a diploma, a fair play medal for each player and official, and$50,000 worth of football equipment to be used for youth development.

World Cup FIFA Fair Play Award winners
1970 Mexico Peru
1978 Argentina Argentina
1982 Spain Brazil
1986 Mexico Brazil
1990 Italy England
1994 USA Brazil
1998 France England / France
2002 Korea/Japan Belgium
2006 Germany Brazil / Spain
2010 South Africa Spain


Most Entertaining Team

The Most Entertaining Team award is attributed to the team that has entertained the public the most during the World Cup final tournament. It is always decided through public participation in a poll.

World Cup Most Entertaining Team
1994 USA Brazil
1998 France France
2002 Korea/Japan South Korea
2006 Germany Portugal


Best Young Player Award

The Best Young Player award was awarded for the first time at the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany and given to Germany's Lukas Podolski. The award is given to the best player in the tournament who is at most 21 years old.

World Cup Young Player Award Age
2006 Germany Lukas Podolski 21
2010 South Africa Thomas Müller 20


FIFA organized a survey on the Internet for users to choose the "best young player" of the World Cup, between 1958 and 2002, named the best young player of each tournament. With 61% of the overall vote, the winner was Pelé, who finished ahead of the Peruvian Teófilo Cubillas, the best young player at Mexico 1970, and England's Michael Owen, who reached similar heights at France 98.

World Cup Most Votes Age
1958 Sweden Pelé 17
1962 Chile Flórián Albert 20
1966 England Franz Beckenbauer 20
1970 Mexico Teófilo Cubillas 21
1974 West Germany Wladyslaw Zmuda 20
1978 Argentina Antonio Cabrini 20
1982 Spain Manuel Amoros 21
1986 Mexico Enzo Scifo 20
1990 Italy Robert Prosinecki 21
1994 United States Marc Overmars 21
1998 France Michael Owen 18
2002 Korea/Japan Landon Donovan 20


Online Betting Online Betting Online Betting Online Betting