Nickname(s): Stars & Stripes; Red, White & Blue

Head Coach: Bob Bradley (2006)

Gold Cup appearance(s): (11) 1991, 1993, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011

Best finish: Champion (1991, 2002, 2005, 2007)

Anything less than reaching the final, if not winning the Gold Cup, will be considered a major disappointment for the United States, which has become a CONCACAF power by reaching six consecutive World Cups. The four-time Gold Cup champion is seeking to win back the crown after losing to archrival Mexico in the 2009 final, 5-0. The Americans, who have never failed to reach the Gold Cup quarterfinals, are expected to return the core of the team that advanced to the second round of the 2010 World Cup. Midfielder Landon Donovan will lead the charge, aided by forward Clint Dempsey, midfielder Michael Bradley and goalkeeper Tim Howard. Coach Bob Bradley also is integrating a new generation of players into the lineup, including promising 18-year-old forward Juan Agudelo.

About the author

Troy Hanks

Troy Hanks

About me

Leave a Comment