Nickname(s): Canucks, Les Rouges, Maple Leafs

Head Coach: Stephen Hart (2009)

Gold Cup appearance(s): (10) 1991, 1993, 1996, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011

Best finish: Champion (2000)

Over a decade has passed since Canada was crowned Gold Cup champion in 2000. Still the only country other than the United States and Mexico to win the title, the Maple Leafs return for a 10th Gold Cup appearance. Stephen Hart, who led Canada to the semifinals in 2007 and quarterfinals in 2009, as interim manager, heads to the 2011 tournament as the full-time manager and brings a squad laden with European and MLS experience. He’ll be counting on the likes of Dwayne De Rosario (New York Red Bulls), Atiba Hutchinson (PSV Eindhoven), Simeon Jackson (Norwich) and Will Johnson (Real Salt Lake) to lead Canada, which since the World Cup has beaten Central American champion Honduras and Belarus, while also falling to Peru and Greece.

About the author

Troy Hanks

Troy Hanks

About me

Leave a Comment